A Personal Touch of Luuk Versteegden

Versteegden, Luuk.jpg

Please learn more about colleagues in our "Personal Touch" series setting employees in the spotlight. A light-hearted manner to learn about the colleagues you know and those you don't!.

This week: Luuk Versteegden






1. Name & Nationality
Luuk Versteegden, Dutch, theme Reconstructive and regenerative medicine.

2. When you were a kid what did you want to be when you grew up?
When I was 4 years old I really wanted to be a carpenter or a road construction worker. When I was in primary school I decided that is was better to work in a bank and earn a lot of money. However, during secondary school I realized that biology and medical sciences were much more interesting and I decided that I wanted to develop drugs or therapies and that is what I still do today.

3. What was your previous academic training, where did you study?
I did a bachelor and master in Molecular Life Sciences in Nijmegen. During my master I did two internships in the RIMLS: at the Department of Biochemistry and Urology.

4. What is your current function and what would you like to achieve?
I work as a PhD-student at the Department of Biochemistry and I work on collagen-based tissue engineering. In our lab we try, in close collaboration with the Department of Urology, to develop scaffolds that can stimulate the regeneration of  damaged tissue in urogenital system.  My goal is to contribute to the translation of  these tissue engineered constructs from the laboratory to the clinic. By doing this I hope to get publications in high-quality scientific journals and to graduate by the end of 2016. Next to the scientific part, I’m also a member of the RIMLS PhD Programme committee and responsible for the organization of the yearly PhD Retreat.

5. The RIMLS motto is 'to understand molecular mechanisms of disease'. What does this mean for you?
I think it is essential to understand the molecular mechanisms of diseases in order to develop novel therapies in a efficient manner and not rely on the serendipity-like discoveries such as penicillin.

6. What is the biggest motivation in your work?
My biggest motivation in my work is to obtain my PhD degree and further develop myself as a innovative researcher. Next to that, the good atmosphere in our lab and the pleasant collaborations with all of my colleagues greatly contributes to my daily motivation to go to the RIMLS.

7. What is your dream for the future?
In the future I hope to obtain my PhD degree and be successful in whatever I will do in my professional career. Hopefully I can contribute to the development of novel products in food or pharma industry and maybe start my own company some day. On a personal level my dream is to stay happy and healthy, and travel around the world.

8. Fun-facts. State an interesting/obscure fact about yourself together with two that are false? Correct answer will be revealed to readers in the subsequent edition.
A: I like to go to karaoke-bars because I am a very talented singer.
B: Last year I completed the Four Days Marches in Nijmegen.
C: When I am on holiday I like to climb mountain passes by bike.

Correct answer will be revealed to readers in the subsequent edition.


Correct answer of Silvia Albert : C

A: I completed all vierdaagse marches and got my reward.
B: I lived seven years in Tibet.
C: I owned a huge spider called Antigone.

State an interesting/obscure fact about yourself together with two that are false.

<< back to overview news items