A Personal Touch of Marije Sloff

Sloff Marije -2014

Please learn more about colleagues in our "Personal Touch" series setting employees in the spotlight. A light-hearted manner to learn about the colleagues you know and those you don't!.

This week: Marije Sloff






1. Name & Nationality
Marije Sloff, Dutch

2. When you were a kid what did you want to be when you grew up?
When I was a kid, I wanted to be a pastry-cook. I really liked cookies, cakes and other sweet things. Then I figured out that you needed to get up really eary in the morning to start baking (bread an other things). Then I let go of the idea….

3. What was your previous academic training, where did you study?
I studied here in Nijmegen, and did a Bachelor and Master in Molecular Life Sciences. In between, I went to the University of Vermont in the United States to follow some graduate courses. For my graduation project I went to the University of Uppsala in Sweden, where I worked on bone tissue engineering. 

4. What is your current function and what would you like to achieve?
I am a PhD student at the Urology Department , working in the reconstructive and regenerative medicine theme. My project focuses on ‘the artificial conduit’, aiming to design a biomaterial which can replace autologous bowel tissue in the formation of an urostomy in patients with extensive bladder disease. These patients often undergo a radical cystectomy and therefore nee dan alternative route to let urine exit the body. The current treatment uses bowel tissue to form a urinary outlet from the abdominal wall, but this can be associated with severe complications. An alternative strategy with a biomaterial would circumvent the use of bowel tissue.

When finalizing my PhD project, I would like to have a full developed artificial urinary conduit with accesory implantation strategy. Hopefully, this will smoothen the transition to the clinic and make this novel therapy available for patients. 

5. The RIMLS motto is 'to understand molecular mechanisms of disease'. What does this mean for you?
For me it is not necessarily about understanding the mechanism of the disease, but to develop a treatment which is better than the currently available ones. Understanding the mechanism and therefore preventing a disease from occurring would be the perfect solution. In the mean time, I hope that with an alternative strategy we can already start helping the patients that need treatment now. 

6. What is the biggest motivation in your work?
To work on something meaningful, which may be helpful for patients in the future. 

7. What is your dream for the future?
Stay happy and healthy! 

8. Fun-facts. State an interesting/obscure fact about yourself together with two that are false? Correct answer will be revealed to readers in the subsequent edition.
A: I organized the PhD retreat in 2012.
B: I am a ballet dancer.
C: I play flute.  

Correct answer will be revealed to readers in the subsequent edition.


Correct answer of Jiangyan Yu: B

A: I owned a flower shop.
B: I am a good calligrapher.
C: I usually drink beer during party.

State an interesting/obscure fact about yourself together with two that are false.

<< back to overview news items