Bart Kiemeney elected as new member Academia Europaea

Bart Kiemeney.jpg

Bart Kiemeney, Scientific director of RIHS, is elected as new member of the Academia Europaea. 

The Academia Europaea is a functioning European Academy of Humanities, Letters and Sciences, composed of individual members. Membership is only by invitation after peer group nomination, scrutiny and confirmation as to the scholarship and eminence of the individual in their chosen field. Election is confirmed by the Council of the Academia. Members are drawn from across the whole European continent, not only Western Europe. Members also include European scholars who are resident in other regions of the world. Current membership stands at around 2300. Amongst them are thirty-eight Nobel Laureates, several of whom were elected to the Academia before they received the prize. In addition to Bart Kiemeney, Barbara Franke, Guillen Fernandez, Mihai Netea, John Jansen, Jan Smeitink, Carl Figdor, Jos van der Meer, Han Brunner, René Bindels and Han van Krieken are also members of the Academia Europaea.


<< back to overview news items