Beyond the Scientist KG.jpg (1)

Where and when were you born?

I was born in Weert on 26 February 1989 and grew up in a small village called Maarheeze, together with my parents and younger brother.

Where do you live and with whom?

Together with Robin I live in ‘s-Hertogenbosch.

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

When I grew up I looked up to people who had skills I would like to have or a personality I appreciated, ranging from being able to perform a flick-flack on the balance beam to feeling confident in speaking to a large audience.

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model?

Hopefully I am still developing myself every day! 

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

In 2013, I participated in the Radboudumc PhD Competition, for which I had to compose, write and present my own research proposal. By being one of the winners of this competition, I earned the funds to perform the PhD project I am working on today. Furthermore, prior to starting my PhD project I did a backpacking trip in New Zealand. For me, going there on my own was a triumph as well!

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

At the moment, I am working on a multi-disciplinary project in which we try to improve the fracture risk prediction in patients with spinal bone metastases. When I graduate in two years, I hope to be one step closer to a better treatment decision making process for these patients. After that…. to be honest, I have not decided yet what road I would like to travel.

For what can we wake you up?

Travelling! So many places I would like to visit. Number one on my wish list is a road trip in the Southwestern United States to explore the astonishing national parks there.

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

In my spare time I enjoy hiking, traveling, baking, snowboarding, reading books, playing field hockey; I do not really have one major hobby. In addition, I am always in for learning something new. Recently I learned how to ski and did a sewing course. All not at a professional level, but just for fun.

What is your biggest irritation?

People not doing what they promised to do.

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance?

I would make it a family dinner; just my mom, dad, brother, sister-in-law, Robin and me. I really do enjoy these evenings. Luckily they happen every now and then!


<< back to overview news items