Beyond the scientist: Maroeska Rovers

Rovers, Maroeska.jpg

Beyond the scientist:  Maroeska Rovers








Where and when were you born?

Quatorze juillet (14 July) 1973 in Doetinchem, but I have been raised in Velswijk, a very small hamlet with only 600 inhabitants. You might know it since it houses the pub of the famer rockgroup “Normaal”.

Where do you live and with whom?

In Ubbergen with Rob and our two daughters: Myrthe (10 years) and Karlijn (8 years).

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

I think as with all little girls it was my dad when I was a toddler, but as soon as I was a teenager I had posters of DoeMaar (Ernst-Jan was my favourite) and volleyball player Ron Zwerver.

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

My dad was a teacher, so maybe I am doing a bit as he did. I also played bass guitar and volleyball at that time, but I simply was not good enough in either of them to become a professional.

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

To be honest I am quite proud of what I have achieved since I moved back to Nijmegen 4 years ago, but what makes me really happy is that I have the feeling that the people who are working in my group do come to work every day with as much pleasure and enthusiasms as I.

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

I hope that we are able to make a (small) contribution to solving the problem of sustainable healthcare. Furthermore, I hope that my students will say that they had a good time in my group, and that they really learned something, and preferably not only content specific.

For what can we wake you up?

Maybe to tell me that there is no hunger, war or injustice anymore, but since that seems a dream maybe you could better let me sleep and have my dreams since I am not at my best when someone wakes me up.

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

I go to spinning class twice a week; I like to read a good book (suggestions are always welcome); and I like hiking (Pieterpad and other long distance walking tracks)

What is your biggest irritation?

Dog poop under my shoes

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance?

Edith Schippers (just to exchange some ideas).

More Maroeska Rovers >>

<< back to overview news items