Beyond the scientist: Mathijs Binkhorst


Where and when were you born?

I was born in Tholen, a small town in the Dutch province Zeeland. My mom and dad welcomed me into this life on July 8th, 1981.

Where do you live and with whom?

I live in Velp, a cosy village situated a little north of Arnhem. I live happily together with my wife Jorine, my six-months-old daughter Silke and my two cats. 

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

Ronald Koeman, a well-known Dutch soccer player. First of all, because I looked like him. But also because of his friendly and modest disposition. 

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

Because I am not that good at soccer.

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

My daughter Silke. A lovely baby girl with a contagious smile and a  wonderful zest to discover the world around her.

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

I would like to become a neonatologist, preferentially in a university hospital, such as the Radboudumc. Also,  I endeavor to become a PhD in the oncoming years. Furthermore,  I want to increase my knowledge and skills as a medical educator. 

For what can we wake you up?

Apple pie! 

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

Running and fitness. My best achievement is finishing after 56 minutes in the Nijmegen Seven Hills  Run. However, that was approximately ten years and ten kilo's ago. 

What is your biggest irritation?

When people question my sincere intentions. 

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance?

Anyone who is a good cook! 

<< back to overview news items