Beyond the scientist: Priyanka Srinivasan


Priyanka Srinivasan, PhD candidate at the Orthopaedic research lab

Where and when were you born?

Davangere, India. That was where my grandmother’s family used to live. But I grew up in Bangalore, a large city in southern India. I was born on March 13th, 1983.

Where do you live and with whom?

Since a year or so in Arnhem, before that in Nijmegen. I live in a building with 3 apartments; my boyfriend lives 2 floors above me.

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

Many people come to mind. Gandhi, Vivekananda, Mother Teresa, etc. But later in life, my grandfather and my parents.

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

My grandfather was a farmer, but what I admired about him and my parents was their hard work and dedication to achieving a goal. I think I try to live my life by that as much as I can. My life took a bit of a different course after coming to the Netherlands, but I would like to go back to India sometime in the future and contribute something more meaningful to the people/society I grew up in. My father was a scientist, so in a way I suppose I am doing something similar.

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

I’ve been accused of being humble on a number of occasions, so not much really! I guess the most difficult thing that I’ve faced is getting on with work and life in a foreign country.

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

That’s a tough one. After my PhD, I hope to work in the medical device industry and contribute to improved healthcare. That sounds like a slogan or something, but I’d like to be involved with research and development, preferably in the orthopaedics field. I don’t have a very specific work-related goal as yet.

For what can we wake you up?

I’m more of an evening person to be honest, so unless it’s an emergency… I will wake up any time for my mom’s food though!

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

I used to draw quite well when I was younger, unfortunately that took a back seat after moving to the Netherlands. I like to walk - long distances. I did walk the Vierdaagse, hope to do it again some time. I am passionate about food, vegan food to be precise. In the future, I’d like to be actively involved with educating people on the benefits of veganism.

What is your biggest irritation?

People who stand in front of the train doors on the platform; so you’re forced to do a little dance before you can get out of the train.

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance?

My parents, as I don’t get to see them often enough. I’d like to also invite my grandmother, who passed away before I could meet her. And Gary Francione maybe.

<< back to overview news items