Beyond the scientist: Rana Dandis


Rana Dandis, PhD candidate at the Department for Health Evidence.

Where and when were you born?

In Hebron city in Palestine, Known in Arabic as Al-Khalil, which means “The friend” because Abraham was the friend of God, located in the southern Westbank 30 km south of Jerusalem. I was born on a summer day in July 1979.

Where do you live and with whom?

I live alone in small apartment close Radboudumc.

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

My father was my role model, not only as a great, loving and caring father, but also as remarkable businessman.  He started as a clerk in a bank, he was able within a short time to have his own business and to grow very fast. He was also the most humble man I have ever known, always gave back to the community and never forgot where he came from. I personally try to honor his legacy by being the best person I can be, and hopefully in my own way make the world I touch a better place.

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

I wanted to! But being in society were it is hard for women to accomplish success in business, I have chosen to study Pharmaceutical science instead, and while working as pharmacist, I decided to continue with Biostatistics to use my medical experience to do research with impact.

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

I don’t think that there is one thing; I think it’s generally that I am proud of the way I got to where I am, and the steps and paths I took. 

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

First of all, I hope to defend my thesis within the estimated time. Afterwards I want to work somewhere where I’ll have opportunities to develop my skills, take on interesting projects, and work with people I can really learn from.

For what can we wake you up?

A cup of Turkish coffee with cardamom.

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

I would say I don't have a regular leisure activity that I enjoy! I usually participate in some activities for some time but never continued any of them for long.

What is your biggest irritation?


Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance?

When I go back home for holiday, I would like to invite my six years old niece “Hala” to have a “Happy meal at McDonald’s”, to keep my promise to her to go out for dinner!

<< back to overview news items