Beyond the scientist: Rebecca Verheggen

Rebecca Verheggen.jpg

Beyond the scientist: Rebecca Verheggen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Where and when were you born?

I was born in Geleen, at June 5th 1986.

Where do you live and with whom?

Recently, together with my partner Rik, I purchased a beautiful house in the Voorstadslaan, near to the city centre of Nijmegen. Although we will not receive the keys until after the summer we are currently spending a large amount of our free time making plans for remodeling of the house and designing a new kitchen.

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

It is hard to think about a role model during early childhood. As a young teenager, I started to visit music festivals. Since I saw MUSE play live at Pinkpop in 2000 for the first time, they have been my favorite band. Their front man, Matthew Bellamy, is a virtuosic composer, and plays both the guitar and the piano live even better than on their records.

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

Probably because I don’t have the talent to be a rock star.

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

Within and outside my job I like to be pro-active and critically think about quality aspects of our training and contribute to policy making. During my residency and my PhD I had the opportunity to become active in the RIHS PhD council and the board of the JNIV (Dutch association for (young) internists). I’m proud to combine these activities with a very busy training study in obese subjects that I am currently conducting.

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

After my PhD trajectory at the Department of Physiology I will return as a resident to the department of Internal Medicine. In the future, I hope I will be able to bridge the gap between pre-clinical basic research and clinical work. I would like to stay active as a clinical researcher and contribute to collaborations between different departments.

For what can we wake you up?

To play with kittens – that I unfortunately don’t have –yet-. So basically you can wake me up to give me a basket full of kittens.

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

I like cooking large meals for family and friends to enjoy together with a good glass of wine. During the summers I always visit a number of music festivals in the Netherlands and Belgium. When the weather gets colder, I start planning and preparing my outfits – yes, multiple – for Carnaval. In September I will start with a sewing class to learn more about designing and creating even more special outfits.

What is your biggest irritation?

The financial incentives that seem to drive health care policy.

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance?

Edith Schippers, to talk about my answer to the previous question.


<< back to overview news items