Beyond the scientist: Sanaz Berahmani


Where and when were you born?

Tehran, capital of Iran with over 15 million residents. I was born on a spring day in April 1986, so I am going to celebrate my 30th birthday soon.

Where do you live and with whom?

I am living with my husband, Hamid, in Heumen, a very small village near Malden.

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

As a kid, I cannot think of anybody specific, probably my dad. But as a teenager, I had a passion for reading and writing and so many different writers were my role model, such as Jean-Paul Sartre, Franz Kafka, and Marcel Proust.

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

I am also now writing a lot, but scientific papers, which are of course boring for a general reader with their main focus on bone and implants. I think the main reason that I am not doing the exact same thing as my role model was my another passion for mathematics, which directed me towards engineering field. However, I am considering writing more fun stories in the future.

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

When I started my PhD, my first conference was ISTA (International Society for Technology in Arthroplasty) and at that time I got acquainted with a prestigious student award: the best paper on biomechanics in the field of arthroplasty, and it was more or less my dream to receive it. Last year it so happened that my last conference before finishing up my PhD was again ISTA and guess what, I won it! In my personal life, I am very proud that when I was only 21 years old, I said yes to a person who is the true one after almost ten years.

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

First of all, I would like to defend my thesis this year, but before that I have a six month research project at the Flinders University in Australia, which I hope to finish up successfully. Afterwards is still unknown, because I still need to find a job, which would affect my future goals. Anyway I want to give my best to any responsibility I face, so I hope to get the best out of it.   

For what can we wake you up?

In the past, I woke up so many times quite early for climbing mountains; I think it is still working.

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

Before I moved to the Netherlands, mountaineering was my sport and my number one hobby. I was also playing violin, which I also gave up when I moved. Running is now the number one, next to learning Dutch. My level is moderate in all of them and I am improving gradually.

What is your biggest irritation?

Inequity in any form and degree.

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance? 

Just now I thought I have such a long list! Who is on the top, difficult! Anybody who sacrifices his/her life for his/her superior goal. Maybe I can grab part of their courage!

<< back to overview news items