Beyond the scientist: Scott Maurits


Scott Maurits, PhD candidate at the department for Health Evidence.

Where and when were you born?

I was born here in Nijmegen in March 1991, and lived here ever since (except for some months in Indonesia). I really feel like Nijmegen is my city and even though I like to visit other places, I am always glad to return home.

Where do you live and with whom?

I currently live in the western part of Nijmegen. While most of the teachers claim that it is one of the worse parts of the city, I can assure that it is not the case. However, I am looking for my own house to buy in the near future somewhere in or around Nijmegen.

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

When I was young I did not have a specific role model, but I was determined to become a scientist working in a laboratory and to find the cure for cancer.

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

Well… I tried to work in a laboratory… During my bachelor internship I worked at the laboratory of Gastroenterology, where I had to examine the toxicity of medication in cells of the liver. But I hated working at the lab, cultivating cells in a stove in an isolated room… getting cells infected with some bacteria… and being restricted in time due to my experiments. So the last day I swore to resign from the lab for the rest of my life and do something else. So here I am, being an epidemiologist in the field of cancer research and I am enjoying it!

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

My greatest achievement this year was graduating with Honors for my master Biomedical Sciences in both Epidemiology and Health Technology Assessment.

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

Well I hope to have my PhD in 5 years (I started at the 1st of January this year). For the next 10 years, I have several dreams. Either become a successful scientist or even professor, or work for a large pharmaceutical as a manager and see if I could change their money-driven way of thinking. But my ultimate goal would be to have my own research institute.

For what can we wake you up?

Food, definitely. Especially Indonesian or Italian food.

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

Tough question, I like to cycle but not at a professional level or anything, just for relaxing and clearing up my mind. Additionally, since I am 50% Indonesian, I like to learn the Indonesian language (and other languages as well). So I try to practice every single week and join the language learning evenings that are being organized by (international) colleagues at my department.

What is your biggest irritation?

Lack of communication, or being selected for a “random” bag check at the supermarket.

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance?

Jennifer Lawrence

<< back to overview news items