Beyond the scientist: Sietske Grol

Grol, Sietske.JPG

Where and when were you born?

Right here in Nijmegen, in 1971, at the Wilhelminasingel as the eldest of two children.

Where do you live and with whom?

Since 2010, I’m back in Nijmegen, living happily in the professors neighbourhood with my husband Bart and our kids Saartje (8), Yfke (10) and Ties (13).

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

My mother, who was a working mum, which was not very common at the time. As a child I was very proud of her. And inspector De Cock with C O C K. It seemed wonderful to me to be able to legitimized stab my nose into other people's business.

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

I do as a working mum, which is not so special any more. And I have seriously examined the possibility of becoming a detective. But once I found out you had to go to the police academy and would most likely end up doing a desk job, this career possibility was no longer very attractive to me. As a policy consultant and qualitative researcher my curiosity is largely satisfied. It enables me to ask people in detail about what they find important in life and work. 

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

The development of the university GP practice of VU university medical center in Amsterdam and the academic health center Thermion in Lent. I found it very satisfying to be able to make a significant contribution to the development of a, for the local society important, visible, tangible and innovative health facility.

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years?

I would like to finish my PhD about integrated care for frail elderly and at the same time raise the awareness in Radboudumc for the importance of collaboration with professionals in other care fields than hospitals such as GP’s and elderly home physicians. Ultimately, I would like Radboudumc to become the initiator of the leading transmural innovative region of Nijmegen.

For what can we wake you up?

My kids.

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

Running, camping out, cooking, reading and photography. I’m not especially very good at any of it, but I enjoy doing it. I’m an outdoor person, either by bike or on foot. And I especially enjoy walking the Vierdaagse with my son Ties, this year for the second time!

What is your biggest irritation?

I try not to be annoyed as much as possible. Usually it says more about me than about other people. And if not, most times I cannot change it so I try to ignore it. 

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance?

My father, who died in 2012. There are so many things I would like to talk about and share with him.

<< back to overview news items