Beyond the scientist: Thalijn Wolters

ThalijnWolters.jpg

Where and when were you born?

I was born in Deventer in 1990. I grew up in Markelo, a small village in the east of the Netherlands, where I lived with my parents and my two brothers.

Where do you live and with whom?

I live in Ede with my boyfriend.

Who was your role model when you were a kid?

That’s a hard one, I had several role models. My parents are both healthcare professionals; their enthusiasm is one of the reasons I wanted to study medicine. I really admired Anky van Grunsven, a Dutch dressage rider. Last but not least, there is Hermoine Granger (from the Harry Potter movies), who is able to be in two places at the same time.

Why aren’t you doing the same thing now as your role model (or do you?)

Like my mother, I became a medical doctor. I’ve had my own horse since I was nine years old, but I preferred riding in the forest and playing with him above dressage riding. I’m still hoping to find a way to be in two places at the same time, just like Hermoine J

What is the thing in your (work or other) history that you are most proud of?

My PhD project is centered around the rare endocrine disease Acromegaly. I am very grateful and proud to be able to investigate this disorder in a very comprehensive way in collaboration with several departments in the Radboudumc. I work with a really nice team of inspiring and smart people; they make it possible to get the most out of my PhD project.

What is it that you would like to achieve in work in the next 5 to 10 years? 

I would like to finish the clinical studies I started and after that I want to get my PhD. I also hope to get accepted for residency training in internal medicine and eventually become an endocrinologist (although that will take more than the upcoming 10 years).

For what can we wake you up?

A walk or run on an early clear summer morning after a rain the night before, or…city trips, or….a live show of one of my favourite rock bands. There are actually a lot of reasons to wake me up!

What is your hobby and how good are you at it?

I really love to run, preferably in the early morning. I’m average runner I run mainly for my own pleasure. For me, running is a way to relax therefore I often don’t feel the need to compare myself to others. However, when challenged, I am able to find an extra gear somewhere.

What is your biggest irritation?

Dishonesty and egocentricity. Narrow-mindedness and intolerance for people who think or act differently also really irritate me. I really dislike people who misuse others to get things their way, especially when it's at the expense of the other persons involved.

Who would you like to invite for dinner, if you had the chance? 

Aletta Jacobs, to talk about feminism, women practicing medicine and social issues.


<< back to overview news items