RIHS PhD award 2014 for Richard ten Broek

Ten Broek_VK.jpg





An impressive number of 87 RIHS PhD theses were completed in 2014. The 3 best of these have been awarded with a RIHS PhD award during the Radboud Research Round of the theme Healthcare Improvement Science on 2 July.


All (junior) Principal Investigators and full professors had been asked to nominate outstanding theses. The 9 nominated theses were judged by the jury, consisting of Prof. André van der Ven (chair), Dr Yvonne Engels and Prof. Hans Kaanders, according to the following criteria:

  • Originality / innovative character of research
  • Relevance of the research within the Radboud Institute for Health Sciences’ field of knowledge
  • Quality in terms of scientific standard
  • Societal impact
  • Clinical relevance

Based on the summaries, the three best were selected. Subsequently, the three best theses were reviewed and consequently ranked according to the abovementioned criteria.

Final ranking:

  1. Dr Richard ten Broek: 'The burden of adhesions’
  2. Dr Linda Reus: ‘Motor development in Prader-Willi Syndrome'
  3. Dr Rik Viergever: ‘Evidence-based priority setting for health research’















<< back to overview news items