NCMLS VENI laureates 2012

Veni 2012

Nine young researchers, affiliated to the NCMLS, have each received a Veni grant of 250,000 euro from the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO). Our researchers received this prestigious grant for their remarkable and original talent and their ability to carry out innovative research. They have only recently completed their doctorates and have now the challenging opportunity to develop their scientific ideas during the coming three years. The Veni grant from the NWO's Innovational Research Incentives Scheme is one of the most prestigious grants for young researchers, and to be awarded is considered an important step in an academic career. Although the Veni researchers are at the beginning of their careers, they have demonstrated to not only possess a remarkable talent in conducting academic research, but are also at the top of their scientific field internationally.

As NCMLS we can make the difference with these newly identified high potentials who can start their own research lines. Hopefully, they will also serve as role models for our current PhD's and motivate them to pursue a similar Veni track.

During the application process our Veni applicants were supported by the NCMLS Veni committee chaired by Prof. Gert Jan Veenstra and our valorisation centre (Dr. Claudia Soede-Huijbregts). Their successful support is greatly appreciated and certainly contributed to this outstanding achievement.

On behalf of all NCMLS colleagues, we wish our laureates a lot of fun and excitement performing their studies and outlined plans in the years to come. Congratulations to all of you!


NCMLS-related Awardees

Heleen ArtsHeleen Arts, department of Human Genetics



Hoeijmakers, WietekeWieteke Faber-Hoeijmakers, department of Molecular Biology



Veni 2012Simon van Heeringen, department of Molecular Developmental Biology



Jacobs, Hans2Hans Jacobs, department of Laboratory Medicine



PlantingaTheo Plantinga, department of Internal Medicine



Veni 2012Hilde van der Schaar, department of Medical Microbiology



Schraders, MargitMargit Schraders, department of Otorhinolaryngology



Strating, JeroenJeroen Strating, department of Medical Microbiology



Wijk, Erwin vanErwin van Wyk, department of Otorhinolaryngology






<< back to overview news items